An Example of Personal Statement / Motivation Letter

Personal Statement

Yogi Saputra Mahmud

Awardee of Indonesia Endowment Fund for Education Scholarship

Master of TESOL, Monash University

Intake, July 2017

 

Since I was young, I have already got a principle that I must share what I experienced or gained to others so that all of us can be beneficial. In this case, I am really into English language teaching because I strongly believe that it is very essential to prepare Indonesian people in global era. I always bear this knowledge-sharing principle since I was young until I decided to pursue master degree at Monash University, Australia.

After discussing with parents, lecturers, colleagues, agents, as well as researching information from digital literature, I decided to enroll for Master of TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) program at Monash University. In terms of education, this university is considered a leading university in the world. Moreover, this university is also very active in collaborating with universities in Indonesia, including Indonesia University of Education, to improve the quality of education as well as education-based research. Additionally, the program that I have chosen has very good quality and relevance to expand my capabilities as a future educator of pre-service English teachers in Indonesia.

As a nation with people from different cultural backgrounds, Australia is considered very contextual in developing my ability to communicate with others. By communicating more with other students from various cultural backgrounds, I wish I could develop my cultural awareness toward other cultures. More significantly, Australia has strategic partnership with Indonesia in terms of education, so that it is expected that I could contribute more toward the partnership between the two nations.

During my academic life at Monash University, I promise to myself to participate in activities which can develop socio-academic network. I will join Indonesian Students’ Association in order to socialize Indonesian culture, including traditional dances and music to Australian people. In turn, I am very interested in understanding Australian traditional and contemporary cultures that I will eventually share to my students in Indonesia. Moreover, I will also attend seminar and workshop to expand my educational insights.

I wish I could provide greater and more sustainable effects for English Language Teaching. It is the reason why I decided to register at Monash University (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Language). I really want to learn how to improve the students’ and pre-service English teachers’ abilities. The initial contribution to do such aim will be conducted by being a lecturer in UPI. There are many pre-service teachers from all over Indonesia who study in this university. Therefore, through the special programs at Monash, I hope that I could contribute to make the quality of pre-service English teachers distributed evenly. Moreover, I will join Research and Community Empowerment Agency of UPI to contribute in education-based research. Finally, I will also keep educating the students through low-cost English online-teaching with englishforall.id.

Tinggalkan komentar